Discover

Discover

  • Winterlights

    During the festive season, the Luxembourg City Tourist Office, in close collaboration with the City of Luxembourg, offers more than 200 concerts and events in the heart of the Christmas markets in Luxembourg City. The "Winterlights" festival turns the city into a magical and wonderful setting with thousands of lights. The Christmas markets offer a diversified program of activities and concerts for young and old. This year, the program evolves around three main themes: children's activities, concerts and walking acts. To provide better orientation to visitors, a description of the animation genre has been added to the themes for example: brass band/harmony, choir, live music or workshop. Join us, we have something in store for every taste… from luxembourg-city.com

    Further information
  • Fuesend (Carnival)

    Like their neighbours, Luxembourgers love to celebrate Carnival, which traditionally takes place from 2 February ('Liichtmëssdag' or Candlemas Day) through to Ash Wednesday ('Aschermëttwoch', in early March). During this period, including the 'Fuessonnden' (Carnival Sunday) and 'Fuesméinden' (Carnival Monday), Luxembourgish associations organise a multitude of masked balls, parades and cavalcades for both children and adults. The best-known cavalcades are those in Diekirch, Schifflange, Esch-sur-Alzette, Remich and Pétange. The masked balls at three other places are particularly well-known as meeting places for 'fools': Echternach, Vianden and Wormeldange. Don't forget to sample typical Luxembourgish Carnival goodies, including: Verwurrelt Gedanken (scrambled thoughts) — knots of pastry sprinkled with icing sugar, Nonnefäscht (nuns' farts) — doughnuts sprinkled with icing sugar, Täertelcher — doughnuts, Maisercher — mouse-shaped donuts, and Stretzegebäck — small cakes made of pastry that is scalded before being baked. The end of Carnival each year is marked by the burning of the 'Stréimännchen' (straw man): on Ash Wednesday, hundreds of Luxembourgers head for Remich for this joyful 'killing' which marks the end of winter as well as the end of Carnival. Carnival continues until the 4th Sunday during Lent (Halleffaaschten), also known as Bretzelsonndeg (pretzel Sunday). from luxembourg.public.lu

  • Ouschteren (Easter)

    Ouschtersonndeg (Easter Sunday)

    The most popular customs are the colouring of the eggs, which are hidden in the garden for the children to find and the game of egg tapping (Técken), in which hard-boiled Easter eggs are tapped against each other. He or she wohse egg retains its intact shell the logest is crowned the winner.

    Éimaischen (Easter Monday)

    The famous pottery fair takes place in Luxembourg City and in Nospelt. The traditional clay figures in the shape of a bird, which produce a tone when blown into, come in a wide range of artistic styles.

       

  • National Holiday

    Luxembourg's national holiday is celebrated every year on 23rd June. Since the end of the 18th century it was a tradition to celebrate the birthday of the respective ruler. Although William III was born on February 19, 1850, this holiday was moved to June 17th, the birthday of his wife, Queen Sophie. This is also due to the proximity to the anniversary of the death of his brother, Prince Alexander, who died on February 20th, 1848. Under Grand Duchess Charlotte the ceremony took place on 23rd January, in the middle of winter. Therefore in 1961 – for purely climatic reasons – it was decided to celebrate the Grand Duchess' birthday on 23rd June. This date was maintained when Grand Duke Jean ascended the throne on 12th November 1964, probably because it was the day before his name day Jean (John), which is celebrated as Gehaansdag on 24 June. Even under the current Grand Duke Henri the date is still valid, but it is no longer directly related to the monarch. [This text is based on the article "Luxemburgischer Nationalfeiertag" from the free encyclopedia Wikipedia and is licensed under Creative Commons CC-BY-SA 3.0 Unported (short version). A list of authors is available in Wikipedia.]

    Further information
  • Fête de la Musique

    The "Fête de la Musique" is a big, popular event in honour of the musicians and performers, amateurs or professionals who want to produce themselves there. Entry is free. Concerts by 25 different organizers are offered throughout the country for 6 days. In Luxembourg City, a total of 22 stages are be set up in the centre and above all in the residential districts of the capital to bring the idea of the Fête de la Musique even closer to the public and to bring it to the people. Photo: MMFE [CC BY-SA 3.0], from Wikimedia Commons

    Further information

Ecolabel

The City Hotel takes care of nature. We only use recycled paper and environmentally friendly cleaning products...

Read more

Useful links

Entdecken

Entdecken

  • Winterlights

    Während der Zeit vor dem Jahresende bietet das Luxembourg City Tourist Office in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt Luxemburg mehr als 200 Konzerte und Veranstaltungen auf den Weihnachtsmärkten in Luxemburg-Stadt an. Das "Winterlights" Festival verwandelt die Stadt in eine magische und wunderschöne Umgebung mit tausenden von Lichtern. Die verschiedenen Weihnachtsmärkte bieten ein abwechslungsreiches Veranstaltungs- und Konzertprogramm für Jung und Alt. In diesem Jahr gliedert sich das Programm in drei Themen: Kinderaktivitäten, Konzerte und „walking acts“. Um den Besuchern einen besseren Überblick zu ermöglichen, wurden diese Themen durch eine Beschreibung des Genres z.B. Blasmusik/Harmonie, Chor, Live-Musik oder Workshop ergänzt. Es ist für jeden Geschmack etwas dabei… from luxembourg-city.com

    Further information
  • Fuesend (Karneval)

    Genau wie ihre Nachbarn lieben die Luxemburger Karneval, der traditionell vom 2. Februar (Liichtmëssdag, Lichtmess) bis zum Aschermittwoch (Äschermëttwoch, Anfang März) stattfindet. Im Laufe dieser Zeit, und vor allem am Fuessonnden (Karnevalssonntag) und am Fuesméinden (Rosenmontag), organisieren die luxemburgischen Vereine viele Kostümbälle sowie Umzüge für Groß und Klein. Die bekanntesten Karnevalsumzüge finden in Diekirch, Schifflange, Esch an der Alzette, Remich und Pétange statt. Drei weitere Ortschaften sind besonders für ihre Narrentreffen bekannt: Echternach, Vianden und Wormeldange. Vergessen Sie nicht, die typischen luxemburgischen Karnevalsleckereien zu probieren, wie zum Beispiel: die Verwurrelt Gedanken (verwirrte Gedanken), mit Puderzucker bestäubte Teigknoten; die Nonnefäscht (Nonnenfürze), mit Puderzucker bestäubte Krapfen; die Täertelcher (Krapfen); die Maisercher (Krapfen in Form einer Maus) oder das Stretzegebäck (Spritzgebäck). Das Ende der Karnevalszeit ist jedes Jahr durch das Verbrennen des "Stréimännchen" (Strohmann) gekennzeichnet: am Aschermittwoch versammeln sich dann Hunderte von Menschen in Remich, um bei dieser feierlichen "Hinrichtung" dabei zu sein, die gleichzeitig das Ende der Karnevals- und der Winterzeit darstellt. Der Karneval verlängert sich bis zum 4. Fastensonntag (Halleffaaschten) auch Bretzelsonndeg (Brezelsonntag) genannt. from luxembourg.public.lu  

  • Ouschteren (Ostern)

    Ouschtersonndeg (Ostersonntag)

    Die beliebtesten Bräuche sind die Färbung der Eier, die im Garten für die Kinder versteckt werden und das Spiel des Eierklopfens (Técken), bei dem hart gekochte Ostereier gegeneinander geklopft werden. Derjenige oder diejenige dessen Ei-Schale intackt bleibt, wird zum Sieger gekrönt.

    Éimaischen (Ostermontag)

    Die Töpferei-Messe findet in Luxemburg-Stadt und in Nospelt statt. Die traditionellen Tonfiguren in Form eines Vogels, die beim Einblasen einen Ton erzeugen, gibt es in den verschiedensten Kunststilen.

  • Nationalfeiertag

    Der luxemburgische Nationalfeiertag wird jedes Jahr am 23. Juni gefeiert. Seit dem Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts war es Tradition, den Geburtstag des jeweiligen Herrschers zu feiern. Obwohl Wilhelm III. am 19. Februar geboren wurde, ist 1850 dieser Feiertag auf den 17. Juni verlegt worden, den Geburtstag seiner Frau, der Königin Sophie. Dies auch wegen der Nähe zum Todestag seines Bruders, Prinz Alexander, der am 20. Februar 1848 gestorben ist. Unter Großherzogin Charlotte fiel die Feier auf den 23. Januar, also mitten im Winter. Deshalb wurde 1961 – aus rein klimatischen Gründen – entschieden, den Großherzoginnengeburtstag am 23. Juni zu begehen. Dieses Datum wurde beibehalten, als Großherzog Jean am 12. November 1964 den Thron bestieg, vermutlich, weil es der Vortag seines Namenstages Jean (Johannes) war, der am 24. Juni als Gehaansdag gefeiert wird. Auch unter dem aktuellen Großherzog Henri hat das Datum weiterhin Bestand, es hat nun jedoch keinen direkten Bezug zum Monarchen mehr. [Dieser Text basiert auf dem Artikel »Luxemburgischer Nationalfeiertag« aus der freien Enzyklopädie Wikipedia und steht unter der Lizenz Creative Commons CC-BY-SA 3.0 Unported (Kurzfassung). In der Wikipedia ist eine Liste der Autoren verfügbar.]

    Further information
  • Fête de la Musique

    Die »Fête de la Musique« ist eine große, beliebte Veranstaltung zu Ehren der Musiker und Performer, Amateure oder Profis, die sich dort produzieren möchten. Eintritt frei. Durch das ganze Land werden während 6 Tagen Konzerte von 25 unterschiedlichen Organisatoren angeboten. In Luxemburg-Stadt werden insgesamt 22 Bühnen im Zentrum und vor allem in den Wohnvierteln der Hauptstadt aufgebaut, um dem Publikum noch näher zu kommen und die Idee der Fête de la Musique unter das Volk zu bringen. Foto: MMFE [CC BY-SA 3.0], from Wikimedia Commons

    Further information

Ecolabel

Das City Hotel ist dem Schutz der Umwelt verpflichtet. Wir verwenden nur Recyclingpapier und umweltfreundliche Reinigungsmittel..

Mehr erfahren

Useful links