Discover

Discover

  • Winterlights

    During the festive season, the Luxembourg City Tourist Office, in close collaboration with the City of Luxembourg, offers more than 200 concerts and events in the heart of the Christmas markets in Luxembourg City. The "Winterlights" festival turns the city into a magical and wonderful setting with thousands of lights. The Christmas markets offer a diversified program of activities and concerts for young and old. This year, the program evolves around three main themes: children's activities, concerts and walking acts. To provide better orientation to visitors, a description of the animation genre has been added to the themes for example: brass band/harmony, choir, live music or workshop. Join us, we have something in store for every taste… from luxembourg-city.com

    Further information
  • Fuesend (Carnival)

    Like their neighbours, Luxembourgers love to celebrate Carnival, which traditionally takes place from 2 February ('Liichtmëssdag' or Candlemas Day) through to Ash Wednesday ('Aschermëttwoch', in early March). During this period, including the 'Fuessonnden' (Carnival Sunday) and 'Fuesméinden' (Carnival Monday), Luxembourgish associations organise a multitude of masked balls, parades and cavalcades for both children and adults. The best-known cavalcades are those in Diekirch, Schifflange, Esch-sur-Alzette, Remich and Pétange. The masked balls at three other places are particularly well-known as meeting places for 'fools': Echternach, Vianden and Wormeldange. Don't forget to sample typical Luxembourgish Carnival goodies, including: Verwurrelt Gedanken (scrambled thoughts) — knots of pastry sprinkled with icing sugar, Nonnefäscht (nuns' farts) — doughnuts sprinkled with icing sugar, Täertelcher — doughnuts, Maisercher — mouse-shaped donuts, and Stretzegebäck — small cakes made of pastry that is scalded before being baked. The end of Carnival each year is marked by the burning of the 'Stréimännchen' (straw man): on Ash Wednesday, hundreds of Luxembourgers head for Remich for this joyful 'killing' which marks the end of winter as well as the end of Carnival. Carnival continues until the 4th Sunday during Lent (Halleffaaschten), also known as Bretzelsonndeg (pretzel Sunday). from luxembourg.public.lu

  • Ouschteren (Easter)

    Ouschtersonndeg (Easter Sunday)

    The most popular customs are the colouring of the eggs, which are hidden in the garden for the children to find and the game of egg tapping (Técken), in which hard-boiled Easter eggs are tapped against each other. He or she wohse egg retains its intact shell the logest is crowned the winner.

    Éimaischen (Easter Monday)

    The famous pottery fair takes place in Luxembourg City and in Nospelt. The traditional clay figures in the shape of a bird, which produce a tone when blown into, come in a wide range of artistic styles.

       

  • National Holiday

    Luxembourg's national holiday is celebrated every year on 23rd June. Since the end of the 18th century it was a tradition to celebrate the birthday of the respective ruler. Although William III was born on February 19, 1850, this holiday was moved to June 17th, the birthday of his wife, Queen Sophie. This is also due to the proximity to the anniversary of the death of his brother, Prince Alexander, who died on February 20th, 1848. Under Grand Duchess Charlotte the ceremony took place on 23rd January, in the middle of winter. Therefore in 1961 – for purely climatic reasons – it was decided to celebrate the Grand Duchess' birthday on 23rd June. This date was maintained when Grand Duke Jean ascended the throne on 12th November 1964, probably because it was the day before his name day Jean (John), which is celebrated as Gehaansdag on 24 June. Even under the current Grand Duke Henri the date is still valid, but it is no longer directly related to the monarch. [This text is based on the article "Luxemburgischer Nationalfeiertag" from the free encyclopedia Wikipedia and is licensed under Creative Commons CC-BY-SA 3.0 Unported (short version). A list of authors is available in Wikipedia.]

    Further information
  • Fête de la Musique

    The "Fête de la Musique" is a big, popular event in honour of the musicians and performers, amateurs or professionals who want to produce themselves there. Entry is free. Concerts by 25 different organizers are offered throughout the country for 6 days. In Luxembourg City, a total of 22 stages are be set up in the centre and above all in the residential districts of the capital to bring the idea of the Fête de la Musique even closer to the public and to bring it to the people. Photo: MMFE [CC BY-SA 3.0], from Wikimedia Commons

    Further information

Ecolabel

The City Hotel takes care of nature. We only use recycled paper and environmentally friendly cleaning products...

Read more

Useful links

Découvrir

Découvrir

  • Winterlights

    Durant les festivités de fin d’année, le Luxembourg City Tourist Office en étroite collaboration avec la Ville de Luxembourg propose plus de 200 concerts et animations au cœur des marchés de Noël à Luxembourg-ville. Le festival « Winterlights » plonge la ville dans un décor féérique et merveilleux avec ses mille et une lumières, ses marchés de Noël et son programme diversifé d’animations et de concerts pour petits et grands. Cette année, la programmation a été articulée autours de trois thèmes : des animations pour enfants, des concerts ainsi que des performances déambulatoires. Afin de permettre aux visiteurs de mieux cibler leurs préférences ces thèmes ont été complétés par une description du genre de l’animation comme, p. ex., fanfare/harmonie, chorale, musique live ou atelier. Venez nombreux, il y en a pour tous les goûts… from luxembourg-city.com

    Further information
  • Fuesend (Carnaval)

    Tout comme leurs voisins, les Luxembourgeois adorent célébrer le Carnaval, qui se déroule traditionnellement du 2 février (Liichtmëssdag ou jour de la Chandeleur) au mercredi des Cendres (Aschermëttwoch, début mars). Au cours de cette période, et notamment le Fuessonnden (dimanche de Carnaval) et le Fuesméinden (lundi de Carnaval), les associations luxembourgeoises organisent une multitude de bals masqués, cortèges et cavalcades pour petits et grands. Les cavalcades les plus connues sont celles de Diekirch, Schifflange, Esch-sur-Alzette, Remich et Pétange. Trois autres localités sont particulièrement connues comme rendez-vous des "fous" grâce à leurs bals masqués: Echternach, Vianden et Wormeldange. N’oubliez pas non plus de goûter les gourmandises luxembourgeoises typiques du carnaval, comme: les Verwurrelt Gedanken (pensées brouillées), nœuds de pâte saupoudrés de sucre glace, les Nonnefäscht (pets de nonne), beignets saupoudrés de sucre glacé, les Täertelcher (beignets), les Maisercher (beignets en forme de souris) ou les Stretzegebäck (petits gâteaux de pâte échaudée, puis passés au four). La fin du carnaval est officiellement marquée chaque année par le fait de brûler le "Stréimännchen" (homme de paille): le mercredi des Cendres, des centaines d'habitants du pays font le déplacement vers Remich pour assister à cette joyeuse mise à mort qui marque la fin du carnaval, mais aussi celle de l'hiver. Le carnaval se prolonge jusqu'au 4e dimanche de carême (Halleffaaschten), appelé aussi Bretzelsonndeg (dimanche du bretzel). from luxembourg.public.lu

  • Ouschteren (Pâques)

    Ouschtersonndeg (Dimanche de Pâques)

    Les coutumes les plus populaires sont la coloration des œufs qui sont par la suite cachés dans le jardin pour que les enfants puissent les trouver et le jeu du tapotement des œufs (Técken), dans lequel les œufs de Pâques durs sont tapés les uns contre les autres. La personne qui conserve sa coquille intacte est couronnée vainqueur.

    Éimaischen (Lundi de Pâques)

    À la foire de la poterie qui a lieu à Luxembourg-Ville et à Nospelt, les figures traditionnelles en argile en forme d'oiseau, qui produisent une tonalité lorsqu'elles sont soufflées, se déclinent dans un large éventail de styles artistiques.

     

  • Fête Nationale

    La fête nationale du Luxembourg est célébrée chaque année le 23 juin. Depuis la fin du 18e siècle, c'était une tradition de célébrer l'anniversaire du souverain respectif. Bien que Guillaume III soit né le 19 février 1850, ce jour férié a été déplacé au 17 juin, date de naissance de son épouse, la reine Sophie. Ceci est également dû à la proximité de l'anniversaire de la mort de son frère, le prince Alexandre, décédé le 20 février 1848. Sous la Grande-Duchesse Charlotte, la cérémonie a eu lieu le 23 janvier, au milieu de l'hiver. C'est pourquoi, en 1961, pour des raisons purement climatiques, il a été décidé de célébrer l'anniversaire de la Grande-Duchesse le 23 juin. Cette date a été maintenue lorsque le Grand-Duc Jean monta sur le trône le 12 novembre 1964, probablement parce que c'était la veille du jour de son nom Jean (Jean), qui est célébré sous le nom de Gehaansdag le 24 juin. Même sous l'actuel Grand-Duc Henri, la date est toujours valable, mais elle n'est plus directement liée au monarque. [Ce texte est basé sur l'article «Luxemburgischer Nationalfeiertag» de l'encyclopédie libre Wikipedia et est sous licence Creative Commons CC-BY-SA 3.0 Unported (version courte). Une liste des auteurs est disponible dans Wikipedia.]

    Further information
  • Fête de la Musique

    La «Fête de la Musique» est un grand événement populaire en l’honneur des musiciens et interprètes, amateurs ou professionnels qui veulent s’y produire. Entrée gratuite. Des concerts de 25 organisateurs différents sont proposés dans tout le pays pendant 6 jours. A Luxembourg-Ville, 22 scènes au total sont installées dans le centre et surtout dans les quartiers résidentiels de la capitale pour rapprocher l’idée de la Fête de la Musique du public et de la population. Photo: MMFE [CC BY-SA 3.0], from Wikimedia Commons

    Further information

Ecolabel

Le City Hotel s’engage pour la protection de la nature. Nous utilisons uniquement du papier recyclé et des produits de nettoyage respectueux

Lire plus

Useful links