News

Luxembourg City Tour #1: Discover the most beautiful spots in a 3-hour-walk

One of our employees has put together a three-hour walk for you with the most beautiful spots of our city. If you feel like discovering Luxembourg City in a short time, you can follow this trail. Make sure you wear good shoes. Have fun!

In this map are listed our highlights:

Map our our Luxembourg City Tour

© Geoportail.lu

#1 – Place de Paris

More than 50 years ago the first hamburger fast food chain “Wimpy” opened on the Place de Paris. Today you can find many bars and restaurants here within only five-minutes walking distance from City Hotel. Our personal selection could be found on this map.

Place de Paris

#2 – Sacré Coeur / Sacred Heart Church

The Sacred Heart Church was built in 1930 by Luxembourg architect Nicolas Petit. Only a six-minutes walk from the City Hotel to the “rue du Fort Elisabeth” you can admire this neo-romantic modern building whose design is as a model for many other churches throughout the country.

Eglise Sacré Coeur

#3 – ARBED-Building

The ARBED building (ARBED was a big Luxembourgish steel company) has been designed by French architect René Théry and was built in 1922. It was the former headquarters of Arcelor-Mittal. Today the refurbished historical building is listed as a national monument and is occupied by the Spuerkeess (State Bank).

ARBED Building

#4 – Rousegäertchen / Place des Martyrs

The Rousegäertchen (English: garden of roses) is a beautiful park located among the main street “avenue de la liberté”. It was laid out in the 1920s. Three paths converge towards the former ARBED building where the bronze sculpture “Mother and Child” by British artist Henry Moore is located.

Rousegäertchen Rousegäertchen

#5 – Pont Adolphe

If you continue to walk up the “avenue de la liberté” from “Rousegäertchen”, you reach the Adolphe Bridge, also called “Nei Bréck”, which connects the old town with the railway station district. The bridge was opened in 1903. It is 153 m long and 42 m high and is characterized by its large arch. Between 2014 and 2017, the bridge has been renovated with an innovation: a bicycle and pedestrian bridge that hangs under the bridge between the arches on steel cables (see photo). Left to the bridge a path leads down. There are even five copies (sibling bridges) of the Adolphe bridge with the same design: in Philadelphia, in Castilla-La Mancha, two in Occitania and one in Algeria.

Pont Adolphe Pont Adolphe Pont Adolphe

#6 – Gëlle Fra / Place de la Constitution

After the Adolphe bridge, turn right. The “Gëlle Fra” (English: Golden Woman) is the common name of this national monument (design name: Queen of Peace) which has a strong symbolism for many people. It is a gilded female figure created by the sculptor Claus Cito. The monument commemorates the Luxembourg volunteers who died in the Foreign Legion on the French side during the First World War. Today it is a general monument against the Nazi dictatorship and commemorates the victims of the war. The woman who is supposed to represent the Greek goddess “Nike” holds a laurel wreath in front of her with outstretched arms.

Gëlle Fra

The ”Place de la Constitution” is also one of the most breath-taking viewpoints in the city. One “floor” below are the beautifully landscaped gardens, surrounded by the high stone walls of the medieval fortress ruins.

Place de la Constitution

#7 – Notre-Dame Cathedral

Opposite the “Gëlle Fra” you can see the Roman Catholic Cathedral, also called “Mariendom”. It was built by the Jesuits between 1613 and 1621 and the crypt is the resting place of John the Blind, King of Bohemia and Count of Luxembourg. On Good Friday, 6th April 1985, one of the three towers caught fire and the church bells were destroyed.

#8 – Cité Judiciaire

Our next stop is the “Cité judiciaire”. It is an architectural ensemble of several buildings located on the Saint-Esprit plateau (Holy Ghost). The buildings accommodate the judicial administration of Luxembourg City. In the smaller building in the middle of the photo you can find an elevator that connects the upper city with the “Grund”. You would then immediately come to our station #21. We continue on foot up the small quirky alley “Rue du St Esprit”.

#9 – Place Clairefontaine

The Clairefontaine Square became a pedestrian zone in the 80s. The square is famous for the monument of the Grand Duchess Charlotte that has been installed in 1990, a sculpture by Jean Cardot. Charlotte reigned as Grand Duchess of Luxembourg from 1919 until her abdication in 1964. During the German occupation of Luxembourg in World War II she became an important symbol of national unity. The name Clairefontaine comes from the refuge of the former abbey Clairefontaine which was demolished in 1933.

#10 – Royal Hamilius

At the end of the Clairefontaine Square, we turn left into “Rue Notre-Dame” and walk along the street until the very end and turn right. In the past there was the post office, a big bus station and in the 80s, a hip-hop scene with break-dancers established itself in the underpasses. Major reconstruction works started in 2015 and since 2019 modern new buildings have been constructed here under the name “Royal Hamilius” with shops, office space, supermarket, apartments and restaurants.

Royal Hamilius

#11 – Rue Philippe II

By passing the Royal Hamilius and walking alongside the Avenue Monterey we encounter the most expensive shopping street of Luxembourg with its posh boutiques. For more information about shopping in Luxembourg you can visit the website of “Cityshopping Luxembourg”.

#12 – Place d’Armes

Continuing straight ahead, you will come across a central meeting point of the city, the “Place d’Armes”  (literally: Arms Square) with the imposing “Cercle Cité” building, an administrative building with several ballrooms. You’re right here if you’re looking to sit on a nice terrace and watch the hustle and bustle of the city. Markets and events as well as concerts often take place here.

Place d'Armes Place d'Armes

#13 – Knuedler / Place Guillaume II

If you walk up the alley to the right of the “Cercle Cité” (photo), you will find a passage on your right to another large meeting place of the city, called the “Knuedler” (French: Place Guillaume II, named after William II, King of the Netherlands and Grand Duke of Luxembourg). In the middle of the 13th century, the church and monastery of the Franciscan Order were located here. The knot of the belt of the monks is called “Knued” in Luxembourgish, hence the name of the square. Today, the Luxembourg City Tourist Office and the Luxembourg City Hall are located here. Every Wednesday and Saturday there is a local market and events are often held on this square.

Knuedler Place Guillaume Knuedler Place Guillaume

#14 – Palais / Grand Ducal Palace

At the end of the “Knuedler”, following the “Rue de la Reine”, you can immediately see a part of the “Palais”, the grand ducal palace at the so-called “Krautmaart” (English: Herbs Market). The palace is the official residence of the Grand Duke and is mainly used for official events and foreign heads of state are received here. The “Chambre des Députés”, next to the palace is the unicameral national legislature of Luxembourg which meets at “Hôtel de la Chambre”. In the streets around the palace there are many good cafés and restaurants and on weekends there is a lively nightlife.

Palais Grand Ducal Palais Grand Ducal

#15 – National Museum of History and Art / Fishmarket

To the left of the palace up the street past the cafés and then directly to the right down to the so-called “Fëschmaart” (English: fishmarket) you can see the National Museum of History and Art (MNHA). The museum has 5 underground floors. The rock under the fishmarket has been hollowed out for this purpose. The concept of the museum is to reconstruct the chronology of history and art from bottom to top – from the 5th basement floor where you can find the pre- and early history, up to the 4th floor that hosts modern paintings.

MNHA

#16 – Bockfiels

If you pass the fishmarket and the museum down the street, you get to a very popular viewpoint, the “Bockfiels” (bock rock). It is 500 m long and 50 to 80 m wide and is surrounded by the “Uelzechtdall” (Alzette valley) which is 40 m lower. The view down to the Neumünster Abbey (also see station 20) is a very popular photo motif. Here you definitely have the best panoramic view of the old fortress town. Beautiful view of the old castle bridge as well as the partly reconstructed castle or the so-called “Kasematten”, the old underground passages that go down up to 40 m deep into the stone and are up to 23 km long.

Bockfiels Bockfiels

#17 – Huelen Zant

A little further down the road on the left side you will see the ruins of a tower on the “Bockfiels”, called “Huelen Zant” (English: Hollow Tooth). It actually looks like a tooth. It is the former left tower of the gate of the fortress. It was rebuilt in 1874 as a pseudo-ruin because it was considered romantic.

Huelen Zant

#18 – Rives de Clausen

We follow the road down the “Huelen Zant” until we reach the district Clausen. At the bottom we turn right into the “Rives de Clausen”. This is a vibrant district with hip bars and restaurants. In former times the seat of the Mousel beer brewery was located here.

Rives de Clausen

#19 – Rham Plateau

At the end of the amusement area, there is a bridge over the Alzette on the left. On the right side we go quite steeply uphill. At the top we go left 180 degrees around the loop and a little bit further up the mountain to the “Plateau du Rham”. There were military barracks in former times. Since the end of the 19th century, social institutions and a retirement home have been accommodated here. You have a nice overview of the military buildings and fortifications. The “Rumm” is part of the “Wenzel Tour” the biggest “open air museum” of Luxembourg. The “Wenzelwee” (English: Wenzel Circular Walk) leads 5,5 km over fortress walls, the casemates and past citadels.

Rham Plateau

#20 –Neumünster Abbey

After the “Rumm” we go down the street again and through the big archway. Behind the gate on the right side, a spiral staircase goes down and you come out at the old Benedictine Abbey “Neimënster” which is used as a public institution today. We could already see the abbey from above at station 16. Now we come out directly in the large courtyard where festivals often take place as well as concerts and many cultural events. Next to it is the church of St. John. Until 1867, there was a military hospital located in Neumünster, then a men’s prison until 1980 before it was converted into a socio-cultural centre.

Neumünster Abtei Neumünster Abtei

#21 – Gronn

Through the agora, the inner covered courtyard of the abbey, you reach the entrance/exit. Follow the “Rue Münster” always straight ahead. After about three minutes, you will come to the bridge “Stadgronn-Bréck”, also a popular photo motif. Around the bridge there are many hip bars and exquisit restaurants. If you cross the bridge you can take the elevator up to St. Esprit (see station 8) or if you are still fit enough you can walk a detour to the “Péitrus”, our last station.

Gronn

#22 – Péitruss / Petrus Valley

When you have crossed the bridge and turned left, you will come to the end of the “Petrus” valley, which is located just under the Old Bridge (viaduct, passerelle). The “Petrus” is a popular place for outdoor sports. There is a large playground for children and also an outdoor fitness installation, a miniature golf course or a brand-new skater park which is very popular. In addition, you can have a romantic picnic in the “Petrus” valley when the weather is fine, and you will meet many joggers and cyclists.

Péitrus

Sources:
https://lb.wikipedia.org/
https://www.visitluxembourg.com/

Photos: © City Hotel Luxembourg

Ecolabel

The City Hotel takes care of nature. We only use recycled paper and environmentally friendly cleaning products...

Read more

Nouveautés

Luxembourg City Tour #1: Les plus beaux coins de la ville en 3 heures de marche

Un de nos employés vous a concocté une promenade de 3 heures avec les plus beaux coins de notre ville. Si vous avez envie de découvrir la ville de Luxembourg en très peu de temps, vous pouvez suivre le sentier. Veillez à porter de bonnes chaussures.

Voici une carte avec les différentes stations:

Map our our Luxembourg City Tour

© Geoportail.lu

#1 – Place de Paris

Il y a plus de 50 ans, la première chaîne de restauration rapide de hamburgers «Wimpy» ouvrait ses portes sur la place de Paris. Aujourd’hui, vous y trouverez de nombreux bars et restaurants qui ne sont qu’à 5 minutes à pied du City Hotel. Nous en avons rassemblé quelques-unes sur une carte.

Place de Paris

#2 – Église Sacré-Coeur

L’Église Sacré-Cœur a été construite en 1930 par l’architecte luxembourgeois Nicolas Petit. À seulement 6 minutes à pied du City Hotel, vous pouvez admirer ce bâtiment moderne néoromantique dont la conception a servi de modèle à de nombreuses autres églises dans tout le pays.

Eglise Sacré Coeur

#3 – Bâtiment ARBED

Le bâtiment de l’ARBED (ARBED était un groupe sidérurgique luxembourgeois) a été conçu par l’architecte français René Théry et construit en 1922. C’était l’ancien siège d’Arcelor-Mittal. Aujourd’hui, le bâtiment historique rénové est classé monument historique et est utilisé par la Spuerkeess (banque d’État).

ARBED Building

#4 – Rousegäertchen / Place des Martyrs

Le «Rousegäertchen» (français: jardin de roses) est un beau parc situé le long de la rue principale (avenue de la liberté). Il a été mis en place dans les années 1920. Trois chemins convergent vers l’ancien bâtiment de l’ARBED où se trouve la sculpture en bronze «Mother and Child» de l’artiste britannique Henry Moore.

Rousegäertchen Rousegäertchen

#5 – Pont Adolphe

Si l’on continue à remonter l’avenue de la liberté depuis le «Rousegäertchen», on arrive au pont Adolphe, également appelé «Nei Bréck» (nouveau pont), qui relie la vieille ville au quartier de la gare. Le pont a été ouvert en 1903. Il mesure 153 m de long et 42 m de haut et se caractérise par sa grande arche. Entre 2014 et 2017, le pont a été rénové grâce à une innovation: un pont pour cyclistes et piétons qui est suspendu sous le pont entre les arches sur des câbles d’acier (photo). Un chemin descend à gauche du pont. Il existe même cinq exemplaires (ponts sœurs) du pont avec le même design: à Philadelphie, en Castille-La Manche, deux en Occitanie et un en Algérie.

Pont Adolphe Pont Adolphe Pont Adolphe

#6 – Gëlle Fra / Place de la Constitution

La «Gëlle Fra» (français: femme en or) est le nom commun de ce monument du souvenir national (nom du projet: reine de la paix) qui a un fort symbolisme pour beaucoup de gens. Il s’agit d’une figure féminine dorée créée par le sculpteur Claus Cito. Le monument commémore les volontaires luxembourgeois morts dans la légion étrangère du côté français pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Aujourd’hui, c’est un monument général contre la dictature nazie et commémore les victimes de la guerre. La femme qui est censée représenter la déesse grecque «Nike» tient une couronne de laurier devant elle, les bras tendus.

Gëlle Fra

C’est aussi l’un des points de vue les plus époustouflants de la ville. Un «étage» plus bas se trouvent les jardins magnifiquement aménagés, entourés par les hauts murs de pierre des ruines de la forteresse médiévale.

Place de la Constitution

#7 – Cathédrale Notre-Dame

En face de la «Gëlle Fra», vous pouvez déjà voir la «Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Luxembourg», une cathédrale catholique romaine, également appelée «Mariendom». Elle a été construite par les Jésuites entre 1613 et 1621 et la crypte est le lieu de repos de Jean l’Aveugle, roi de Bohême et comte de Luxembourg. Le vendredi saint 6 avril 1985, l’une des trois tours a pris feu et les cloches de l’église ont été détruites.

#8 – Cité Judiciaire

En passant devant la cathédrale et en descendant la rue, on arrive en deux ou trois minutes à la «Cité judiciaire». C’est un ensemble architectural de plusieurs bâtiments situés sur le plateau du Saint-Esprit. Les bâtiments abritent l’administration judiciaire de la ville de Luxembourg. Dans le petit bâtiment au milieu de la photo, vous pouvez trouver un ascenseur qui relie la ville haute au «Grund». Vous sortiriez alors immédiatement au point #21. Mais nous continuons à pied dans la petite ruelle farfelue «Rue du St Esprit».

#9 – Place Clairefontaine

La Place Clairefontaine est devenue une zone piétonne dans les années 80. Cette place est célèbre pour le monument de la Grande-Duchesse Charlotte qui s’y trouve depuis 1990, une sculpture de Jean Cardot. Charlotte a régné en tant que grande-duchesse de Luxembourg de 1919 jusqu’à son abdication en 1964. Durant l’occupation allemande du Luxembourg pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, elle est devenue un symbole important de l’unité nationale. Le nom Clairefontaine vient du refuge de l’ancienne abbaye de Clairefontaine qui fut démolie en 1933.

#10 – Royal Hamilius

Au bout de la place Clairefontaine, nous tournons à gauche dans la rue Notre Dame et marchons jusqu’au bout où on tourne à droite. Autrefois, il y avait la poste, une grande gare de bus et dans les années 80, une scène hip-hop avec des danseurs de breakdance s’est établie dans les passages souterrains. Afin de prévenir la ghettoïsation croissante, d’importants travaux de reconstruction ont commencé en 2015 et depuis 2019, de nouveaux bâtiments modernes ont été construits ici sous le nom de «Royal Hamilius» avec des magasins, des bureaux, un supermarché, des appartements et des restaurants.

Royal Hamilius

#11 – Rue Philippe II

En passant devant le «Royal Hamilius» et en longeant l’avenue Monterey, on rencontre la rue commerçante la plus chère du Luxembourg avec ses boutiques chics. Pour plus d’informations sur le shopping au Luxembourg, vous pouvez visiter le site Internet du «Cityshopping Luxembourg».


#12 – Place d’Armes

En continuant tout droit, vous tomberez sur un point de rencontre central de la ville, la Place d’Armes avec l’imposant bâtiment du «Cercle Cité», un bâtiment administratif comprenant plusieurs salles de bal. Ici, on est à la bonne adresse si l’on veut s’asseoir sur une belle terrasse et observer la vie animée de la ville. Des marchés et des événements ainsi que des concerts y ont souvent lieu.

Place d'Armes Place d'Armes

#13 – Knuedler / Place Guillaume II

Si vous remontez l’allée à droite du Cercle Cité (photo), vous trouverez un passage vers le deuxième grand lieu de rencontre de la ville, le «Knuedler» ou «Place Guillaume II» après Guillaume II, roi des Pays-Bas et grand-duc de Luxembourg. Au milieu du XIIIe siècle, l’église et le monastère de l’ordre des franciscains y étaient situés. Le nœud de la ceinture des moines est appelé «Knued» en luxembourgeois, d’où le nom de la place. Aujourd’hui, le Luxembourg City Tourist Office et l’Hôtel de Ville de Luxembourg y sont installés. Chaque mercredi et samedi, il y a lieu un marché local et des événements sont souvent organisés à cet endroit.

Knuedler Place Guillaume Knuedler Place Guillaume

#14 – Palais

Au bout du Knuedler, en entrant la rue de la Reine, on voit immédiatement une partie du palais, le palais grand-ducal au «Krautmaart» (Marché aux Herbes). Le palais est la résidence officielle du Grand-Duc et est principalement utilisé pour les événements officiels et les chefs d’État étrangers y sont reçus. La«Chambre des Députés» à côté du palais est la législature nationale monocamérale du Luxembourg qui se réunit à l’Hôtel de la Chambre. Dans les rues autour du palais, il y a beaucoup de bons cafés et restaurants et le week-end, la vie nocturne est très animée

Palais Grand Ducal Palais Grand Ducal

#15 – Musée d’Histoire et d’Art / Marché aux poissons

À gauche du palais, en haut de la rue, après les cafés, on descend directement à droite jusqu’au soi-disant marché aux poissons. Vous trouverez ici le National Museum of History and Art (MNHA). Le musée compte 5 étages souterrains. La roche sous le marché aux poissons a été creusée à cet effet. Le concept du musée consiste à reconstruire la chronologie de l’histoire et de l’art de bas en haut. Au 5e sous-sol on retrouve la préhistoire et les débuts de l’histoire jusqu’au 4e étage qui héberge la peinture moderne.

MNHA

#16 – Point de vue «Bockfiels»

Si l’on passe devant le marché aux poissons et le musée en bas de la rue, on arrive à un point de vue très populaire, le «Bockfiels» (rocher du bock). Il mesure 500 mètres de long et 50 à 80 mètres de large et est entouré par le «Uelzechtdall» (vallée de l’Alzette) qui se trouve 40 mètres plus bas. La vue sur l’abbaye de Neumünster (voir aussi station 20) est un motif de photo très populaire. Ici, vous pouvez certainement voir la plus grande partie de la vieille ville fortifiée. Vue magnifique sur le vieux pont du château ainsi que sur le château partiellement reconstruit ou les «Casemates», les anciens passages souterrains qui descendent jusqu’à 40 mètres de profondeur dans la pierre et qui font jusqu’à 23 km de long.

Bockfiels Bockfiels

#17 – «Huelen Zant»

Un peu plus loin sur la gauche, vous trouverez les ruines d’une tour sur le rocher du Bock, le «Huelen Zant» (français: dent creuse). Il ressemble en fait à un dent. C’est l’ancienne tour gauche de la porte de la forteresse. La tour a été reconstruite en 1874 comme une pseudo-ruine parce qu’elle était considérée comme romantique.

Huelen Zant

#18 – Rives de Clausen

Nous suivons la route en descendant par le «Huelen Zant» jusqu’au quartier Clausen. En bas, nous tournons à droite dans les «Rives de Clausen». C’est un quartier de loisirs relativement nouveau, avec des bars et des restaurants branchés. Autrefois, le siège de la brasserie Mousel était situé ici.

Rives de Clausen

#19 – Plateau du Rham

Au bout du quartier de loisirs, il y a un pont traversant l’Alzette à gauche. Sur le côté droit, on monte assez abruptement la Rue de la Tour Jacob. Au sommet, nous tournons à gauche à 180 degrés autour de la boucle et un peu plus haut sur la montagne jusqu’au «Plateau du Rham». Ici se trouvaient autrefois des casernes militaires. Depuis la fin du XIXe siècle, des institutions sociales et une maison de retraite y ont été installées. On a une belle vue d’ensemble des bâtiments militaires et des fortifications. La «Rumm» fait partie du circuit «Wenzel Tour», le plus grand «musée en plein air» du Luxembourg. Le sentier mène sur 5,5 km à travers les murs des forteresses, les casemates et les citadelles.

Rham Plateau

#20 – Abbaye Neumünster

Après la «Rumm», nous redescendons la rue et entrons par la grande arcade. Derrière la porte de droite, un escalier en colimaçon descend et vous arrivez à l’ancienne abbaye bénédictine de Neimënster, qui est aujourd’hui une institution publique. On pouvait déjà voir l’abbaye d’en haut, station 16. Maintenant, nous sortons directement dans la grande cour où se déroulent souvent des festivals ainsi que des concerts et de nombreux événements culturels. A côté se trouve l’église de Saint-Jean. Jusqu’en 1867, il y a eu un hôpital militaire ici à Neumünster, puis une prison pour hommes jusqu’en 1980 avant d’être transformée en centre socioculturel.

Neumünster Abtei Neumünster Abtei

#21 – Grund

Par l’agora, la cour intérieure couverte de l’abbaye, on accède à la sortie/entrée. Suivez la rue Münster, toujours tout droit. Après environ 3 minutes, vous arriverez au pont «Stadgronn». C’est aussi un motif de photo populaire. Autour du pont, il y a de nombreux bars et restaurants branchés. Si vous traversez le pont, vous pouvez prendre l’ascenseur jusqu’au St. Esprit (voir station 8) ou, si vous êtes encore assez en forme, vous pouvez faire un détour par la Pétrusse, notre dernière station.

Gronn

#22 – La Pétrusse

Après avoir traversé le pont et tourné à gauche, vous arriverez au bout de la vallée de la Pétrusse qui se trouve juste sous le Vieux Pont (viaduc, passerelle). La Pétrusse est un endroit populaire pour les sports en plein air. Il y a une grande aire de jeux pour les enfants et aussi une installation d’un outdoor fitness, un terrain de Minigolf ou un tout nouveau Skatepark qui est très populaire. En outre, vous pouvez faire un pique-nique romantique dans la vallée de la Pétrusse quand il fait beau et vous rencontrerez de nombreux joggers et cyclistes.

Péitrus

Sources:
https://lb.wikipedia.org/
https://www.visitluxembourg.com/

Photos: © City Hotel Luxembourg

Ecolabel

The City Hotel takes care of nature. We only use recycled paper and environmentally friendly cleaning products...

Lire plus